Sausage Meatloaf

Hello! It’s been ages since I last posted… School just got out and I feel like I’m more busy nowwith al the stuff I’m doing to occupy myself then when I was filled to the brim withstuff I needed to do. Anyhow, I have had every opportunity to cook, and I have. The other night I made sausage meatloaf with pork sausage being the only meat in the meatloaf. That translates into a long cooking time but a delicious result.

Begin by cutting up 1 small onion and a carrot or two into small pieces. Place in a heavy skillet with two tablespoons butter/margarine and a tablespoon of minced garlic.

add le butter :)

Cook until the carrots are tender, around 10 minutes. Add 1 teaspoon of salt, 3/4 teaspoon black pepper, 1/3 cup of ketchup. Stir until bubbly, then take off heat.

mix in le ketchup y ingredientes

From here on out, I do not have pictures because my hands were covered in raw meat.

Preheat the oven to 350*F. In a small bowl, mix 1/3 cup ketchup and 1/6 cup brown sugar well (feel free to use more or less depending on how sweet you like your meatloaf).

In a large metal (preferably) bowl, mix 2 pounds of sausage (I used a pound of ‘regular’ sausage and a pound of maple sausage which tasted beautifully sweet and spicy together) with a cup of breadcrumbs, 2 eggs and some cut up parsley (optional, up to 1/3 cup). I recommend using your hands to mix.

Add the carrot/onion/garlic mixture once cool and mix it well into the sausage mixture. Press mixture into loaf pan. Slather the top of the meatloaf with the ketchup/brown sugar mixture. Bake for an 1 1/2-2 hours or until a meat therometer reads the internal heat as 170*F.  We served it with a baked potato and some sort of green. 😉

Recipe:

Sausage Meatloaf recipe

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

-Redheadedwhovian

One thought on “Sausage Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

