Banana ‘Cookie’ Bars

Hello! The other day I was expecting company, so I decided it would only be right if I baked some sort of good. Of course, my first idea was my quick and delicious cookie bars. I begin to start the recipe and preheat the oven when I realize, we are out of butter. Of course, cookie bars cannot be made without butter, can they? So I decided to try. I used only banana instead of the butter and continued making the recipe. Not sure what to expect, when this beauty of a cake-y cookie came out, I was delighted. No one could stop eating these, and it’s probably more than half the fat my cookie bars are. Of course, that likely won’t stop me from making either again.

Here is the cookie bar recipe copied and pasted and changed slightly to be banana ‘cookie’ bars. 🙂

Start by measuring out 3 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a medium to large bowl. Using a fork, fluff it a few times.

whisk flour, baking powder and salt together

Instead of 2 sticks of butter, use 2 mashed bananas and mix them into the flour.

In a separate bowl, whisk 2 eggs together with 2 teaspoons vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract.

whisked eggs

Add in 1 1/2 cups of sugar.

put sugar in eggs

Mix well.

sugar and eggs mixed

Pour egg mixture into flour mixture.

pour eggs into flour

Create a dough starting with a spoon and eventually with your fingers.

create a dough

Preheat your oven to 375*F as you let your dough firm up for around 20 minutes.

You have now made the sugar cookie base. If you would like to just make sugar cookies, go right ahead and roll this out with flour to around 1/4 an inch thickness, use cut outs and bake at 375*F until lightly browned. If you’d like to continue making cookie bars out of this dough, I’m continuing.

Once ready, make a well in your dough and place in 1 1/2-2 cups of chopped up candy, chocolate chips, M&Ms, toffee bits or whatever else you have on hand.

Candy well

Mix dough together and press into a lightly greased  pan. Bake at 375* until golden brown.

Enjoy!

-Redheadedwhovian

Leave a Reply

