Rosh Hashana

Happy late Jewish New Year! I hope this year of 5775 has been good to you already. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you’re reading this, you likely have some idea of Jewish religion or at least the holidays and traditions related to them. If not, then you should know Rosh Hashana is the Jewish New Year. Rosh Hashana has some awesome food traditions- like apples and honey (which, if I may say, the BEST fruit combination in the world) and round challah. So for Rosh Hashana, my family was treated with an amazing meal consisting of potato latkes (what’s a Jewish holiday without them?), apples and honey, and some meat. Let’s focus on those latkes though. Latkes- some of the most beautiful creations in the world. Salty, potato pancakes that are irresistable, and usually gone before dinner (not even kidding-this has happened a few times).

Ah, latkes. They may be the death of me…

This time we made fresh latkes out of potatoes, an onion, some salt and some oatmeal. That’s really it, it is one of the easiest pancake recipes I make. ๐Ÿ™‚

Begin by chopping up as many potatoes as you feel like will feed your guests… My family of 6 used more than a half a bag of potatoes (around 8 potatoes)… Chop up your onion as well. (Depending on the amount you make it could be 2 onions or half an onion… It was about a 1 onion/8 potato ratio though)

cut those Po-ta-toes (cook 'em, amsh 'em, put 'em in a stew)

Next, put the potatoes, a good amount of salt(we used somewhere between 1-2 teaspoons) and about 1/4 cup oatmeal into a blender. The amount of salt will change on your preference, and the oatmeal is a starting amount…. Depending on how moist your potatoes are, you may need more to soak up some of the excess moisture.

...and blend 'em

Blend away! Add more seasoning/oatmeal as necessary.

maybe a little more....

Heat some veggie/canola oil in a frying pan. When you splatter water into the pan and it sizzles, the time has come to add your batter. Using a ladle/large spoon, scoop out the batter and place it onto the sizzling oil. The batter should be thick and spread slightly, but nothing like buttermilk pancake batter. If you have batter like that, you have a problem. (I think to get there you would have to add water though and I can honestly say I’ve never tried that…)

Fry those lovelies

Anyhow, continue to fry and flip when golden brown.

Latkes!

Aren’t they fabulous? I could live off these. Not in a healthy way of course, but I would sure be happy with my latkes.

And here is part of my Rosh Hashana dinner:

Rosh Hashana Dinner

My Rosh Hashana dinner, served beautifully on my Mary plates.

Let me get something straight… Yes, my family and I ate Rosh Hashana dinner on Catholic plates but it was in no way to disrespect anyone but simply because my mother and I have a slight obsession with religious art.

That’s just the sort of family we have. In some ways, we are a truly American… The melting pot of religions and ethnicities all cooked up and thrown into one family…

We had a brilliant Rosh Hashana, and ended the day with some chocolate blintzes. (email me at redheadedwhovian@gmail.com for the recipe link)

Chocolate Blintzes for dessert

Chocolate Blintzes for dessert

How was yours? I’d love to hear about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ And also, although it is late:

L’shana Tova! (Happy New Year!)

Enjoy!
-Redheadedwhovian

Leave a Reply

