Sugar Cookies to Decorate

Ok, I don’t know about any of you, but I’ve always had the problem of finding a sugar cookie recipe that doesn’t spread out. One that I can mess about with, make shapes and decorate without worrying about it spreading out or being too soft and falling apart. Well, I finally found one.

Awhile back, I was in the depths of Pinterest and I happened to pass a recipe that sounded decent, so I attempted it, mostly following the recipe. I ended up changing it slightly, and got what I consider the best sugar cookie for decorating. Although it isn’t the sweetest, it’s on the floury side, I like it because it doesn’t spread out and it isn’t too sweet for icing. Therefore, for my purposes, it was perfect. Since finding the recipe, I’ve used it a few times and finally took photos to post it here. Recently, I made them for Gage’s birthday party (will be posted in the next couple weeks).

Begin by preheating your oven to 350*. Then, start blending a stick of softened butter/margarine (plus a bit extra) and a cup of sugar together.

IMG_7015

Add two eggs and mix well.

IMG_7016

Add 1 tablespoon vanilla and stir together.

IMG_7017

Add a pinch of salt and 2 tsp baking powder with a half a cup of flour and stir well. Continue adding 1/2 cup at a time, eventually getting to stir in 2 1/2 cups of flour. (Can add up to 4 cups for a flour-y cookie, will need more than 2 1/2 for rolling out)

IMG_7018

Flour a surface and take a handful of the dough. In your hands, add a bit of flour to the dough and knead until less sticky. Then, using a floured rolling pin, roll out dough until 1/4 in thick. Use a knife or cookie cutters to design your cookies.

IMG_7019

Bake on a greased/wax paper-ed cookie sheet until no longer doughy, about 10 minutes. Makes between 3-4 dozen cookies, depending on the size.

IMG_7024

Although these are weird shapes, I promise, they were purposeful.

Plants vs zombie cookies!

Plants vs zombie cookies!

Hope these yummy cookies are as handy for you as they have been for me. 🙂

Bye for now,

-Redheadedwhovian

Leave a Reply

